Week 4: Progress Made!

I have spent a lot of time making lyrics. I pulled out my old poetry skills and got to work. I want it to rhyme, but I want it to make sense. I’ve kind of laid out how I wanted the song format to be:

I only have some of the lyrics, but this is what it looks like right now:

Verse 1:
….. (Stuff I need to figure out)
Finally I wake up, it was a dream,
No more nightmares, no more screams.
But there’s this thing inside of me it feels like pain,
I miss the thrill of the game.
Chorus:
What if I go run and hide, away from those things that eat me up inside?
What if I decide to flee, away from those deep dark nightmares chasing me?
Oh, but then, who’d I be? When I look inside the mirror who do I see?
If I am sleepin’, I don’t wanna be dreamin’. Don’t wanna wake up from a fairy tale.
Verse 2:
I’ve killed dragons, I’ve been queens,
I’ve been kissed by enemies,
There’s no nothin’ that I can’t see,
And no one has more power than me.

(Stuff, stuff, stuff…)
Chorus: – –
Bridge:
Tryin’ to decide if I want to go hide,
Away from those things that eat me up inside,
But then would I still wanna try,
To be the person that I always liked,
Imagine me finally free,
Inside my very own fantasies,
Painlessly, through memories,
Like I’m inside my own fairy tale dream.

Chorus: – –

Ta-da! Hard work pays off!

One thought on “Week 4: Progress Made!”

  1. That’s an awesome start! Are you counting syllables in your verses so that the syllables will line up with the notes?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *